Pop!

So, you invest in some smart shirts, double cuffed and all that, and think you’ll be smart and presentable, a real swell.

And you decide to wear the aforementioned doublecuffery at a business event. An event with an audience of 60 that you are chairing.

The SMA, to be precise.

So, that’s what happened. I was hosting a Question Time (esque) event playing the David Bimbledy role when, about an hour in, I looked torso-ward, then quickly audience-ward, my old mucker Jon Stevenson caught my eye and smirked in sympathy.

The shirt may have been smart and lovely but my belly had been fully and wholly unattractively exposed as the button at the point of most pressure (the belly button) had popped.

Class. (Thanks TM Lewin for your lack of button protection.)

Aside from Jon’s smirk, I may have got away with it.

Not mine, but you get the idea.
2 thoughts on “Pop!

  1. Being of similar shape (body is a temple – the Taj Mahal) I’ve been there, done that. But never in such a splendidly public forum.

  2. Greetings from the Royal Infirmary. I turned up at the SMA yesterday only to have my cheekbone shattered by a .45 calibre shirt-fastener. See you in court, Mark.

Leave a Reply

